Bitcoin Forum
February 24, 2018, 11:50:14 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: new server  (Read 1147 times)
webeldoh
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 02, 2011, 08:07:08 PM
#1

New to Bitcoin and to the community. System went live early Tuesday morning. Have the following output to share:

[email protected]:/usr/bin/bitcoin-0.3.20/bin/64$ sudo ./bitcoind getinfo
{
    "version" : 32001,
    "balance" : 0.00000000,
    "blocks" : 111413,
    "connections" : 23,
    "proxy" : "",
    "generate" : false,
    "genproclimit" : -1,
    "difficulty" : 55590.23763914,
    "hashespersec" : 0,
    "testnet" : false,
    "keypoololdest" : 1299036147,
    "paytxfee" : 0.00000000,
    "errors" : ""
}

Is it reasonable that the system has been running this long and is still not crunching hashes? Just curious... any comments greatly appreciated.
1519473014
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1519473014

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1519473014
Reply with quote  #2

1519473014
Report to moderator
1519473014
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1519473014

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1519473014
Reply with quote  #2

1519473014
Report to moderator
1519473014
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1519473014

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1519473014
Reply with quote  #2

1519473014
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1519473014
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1519473014

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1519473014
Reply with quote  #2

1519473014
Report to moderator
1519473014
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1519473014

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1519473014
Reply with quote  #2

1519473014
Report to moderator
Neereus
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 02, 2011, 08:10:54 PM
#2

Quote
"generate" : false,

May be mistaken, but think that should be true.


Donate (even 0.01 BTC) to my Robot Fund:
18jXUmXEz3c8Ji3SqZMwGE6PYY3V7qyQ86
Cryptoman
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728
Merit: 500



View Profile
March 02, 2011, 08:13:56 PM
#3

Code:
./bitcoind setgenerate true

"A small body of determined spirits fired by an unquenchable faith in their mission can alter the course of history." --Gandhi
webeldoh
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 02, 2011, 08:57:49 PM
#4

Much better thank you.
kseistrup
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 565
Merit: 500


Unselfish actions pay back better


View Profile WWW
March 02, 2011, 09:03:10 PM
#5

Much better thank you.

You should know that � depending on your rig, of course � it could literally take years to mine a single block.  You're probably better off if you join a pool.

Cheers,

Klaus Alexander Seistrup
http://about.me/kseistrup
error
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574
Merit: 500



View Profile
March 03, 2011, 06:46:16 PM
#6

Running Bitcoin as root is probably a very bad idea.

15UFyv6kfWgq83Pp3yhXPr8rknv9m6581W
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!